Final Election Results: Labour lose control of council


Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Labour have lost control of Tower Hamlets Council in a big loss to the party’s ambition in London. Lutfur Rahman’s Aspire party won overall control to end Labour’s time in charge of the east London Council following his stunning re-election as Tower Hamlets mayor, seven years after being removed from office.

Aspire shot up from just two seats to 24 – securing a majority. Labour – which had previously controlled 40 of the 45 council seats – won just 19.

The former Majority Group Whip, Kevin Brady and Poplar and Limehouse Labour Party Chair, Chris Worral were defeated at the polls. Worral was previously accused of Islamophobia by a party member.

The Greens and Conservatives each won one seat on the council. Residents favourites, Rabina Khan, the only Liberal Democrat and Andrew Wood, the only Independent on the council both lost their seats to Aspire.

Labour saw most of its success in the May 5 elections in London, winning Westminster, Wandsworth and Barnet councils from the Conservatives. But disaster struck in Tower Hamlets where it had dominated for the last seven years.

The result comes the day after former mayor Lutfur Rahman pulled off a extraordinary political comeback to be re-elected mayor of Tower Hamlets. The Aspire candidate won decisively in the second round of voting on May 6, beating incumbent Labour mayor John Biggs.

Biggs, who had been mayor of Tower Hamlets since 2015, trailed in the first round with 27,894 votes while Rahman won 39,533 votes – just 3,000 votes from winning outright in the first round. The remaining candidates were eliminated and their second-preference votes transferred to the leading two for the second round, with Lutfur Rahman winning the mayoralty with a total of 40,804 while John Biggs received 33,487.

Full local elections results – Thursday, 5th May, 2022

Election summary for Wards
Wards Elected candidates Elected party or parties Time declared
Bethnal Green East Sirajul Islam Labour Party  
Bethnal Green East Ahmodul Kabir Aspire  
Bethnal Green East Rebaka Sultana Labour Party  
Bethnal Green West Musthak Ahmed Aspire  
Bethnal Green West Abu Talha Chowdhury Aspire  
Bethnal Green West Miraj Amin Rahman Aspire  
Blackwall & Cubitt Town Ahmodur Rahman Khan Aspire  
Blackwall & Cubitt Town Abdul Malik Aspire  
Blackwall & Cubitt Town Muhammad Bellal Uddin Aspire  
Bow East Amina Ali Labour Party  
Bow East Rachel Nancy Blake Labour Party  
Bow East Marc Francis Labour Party  
Bow West Asma Begum Labour Party  
Bow West Nathalie Sylvia Bienfait Green Party  
Bromley North Muhammad Saif Uddin Khaled Aspire  
Bromley North Abdul Mannan Aspire  
Bromley South Bodrul Islam Choudhury Aspire  
Bromley South Shahaveer Hussain Labour Party  
Canary Wharf Saied Ahmed Aspire  
Canary Wharf Mohammed Maium Miah Talukdar Aspire  
Island Gardens Mufeedah Bustin Labour Party  
Island Gardens Peter Stacey Golds Conservative  
Lansbury Abul Monsur Ohid Ahmed Aspire  
Lansbury Jahed Choudhury Aspire  
Lansbury Iqbal Hossain Aspire  
Limehouse James Robert Venables King Labour Party  
Mile End Leelu Ahmed Labour Party  
Mile End Mohammad Saifur Rahman Chowdhury Labour Party  
Mile End Sabina Khan Labour Party  
Poplar Gulam Kibria Choudhury Aspire  
Shadwell Ana Miah Aspire  
Shadwell Mohammad Harun Miah Aspire  
Spitalfields & Banglatown Suluk Ahmed Aspire  
Spitalfields & Banglatown Kabir Hussain Aspire  
St Dunstan’s Maisha Fahmida Begum Labour Party  
St Dunstan’s Ayas Miah Labour Party  
St Katharine’s & Wapping Amy Louise Lee Labour Party  
St Katharine’s & Wapping Muhammad Abdal Ullah Labour Party  
Stepney Green Sabina Akhtar Labour Party  
Stepney Green Mohammed Abdul Wahid Ali Aspire  
Weavers Kabir Ahmed Aspire  
Weavers Asma Islam Labour Party  
Whitechapel Md Faroque Mahfuz Ahmed Labour Party  
Whitechapel Shafi Uddin Ahmed Aspire  
Whitechapel Mohammed Kamrul Hussain Aspire  

Full local election result by party – Thursday, 5th May, 2022

Election results by party
Party name Seats won % of votes
Aspire 24 36.95%
Labour Party 19 36.53%
Green Party 1 9.00%
Conservative 1 7.57%
Liberal Democrats 0 8.92%
Independent 0 < 1%
Resurrection Young People. In Sha Allah 0 < 1%
Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition 0 < 1%
Social Democratic Party 0 < 1%
Turnout: 41.84%
Tower Hamlets Reporter
Tower Hamlets Reporter
The information contained in my articles is for general information purposes only.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

Labour’s Ali Clings to Bethnal Green Seat After Fiery Election!

In a nail-biting finish, Labour’s Rushanara Ali narrowly retained...

Murder Inquiry Launched After Bethnal Green Stabbing

Detectives have launched a murder inquiry following a stabbing...

Watch Out! Shop Owner Gets Time Behind Bars for Fake Luxury Watches

In a time-ticking twist, a shop owner has been...